IAFS 2023 Award Winners

We are proud to announce the Award Winners for the 23rd Triennial Meeting of IAFS in conjunction with the 26th Symposium of the Australian & New Zealand Forensic Science Society in Sydney in November 2023.

AAFS Douglas M. Lucas Medal

Prof. Christophe Champod (CH)

University of Lausanne

Read Full Biography

Christophe Champod received his M.Sc. and Ph.D. (summa cum laude) both in Forensic Science, from the University of Lausanne, in 1990 and 1995 respectively. Remained in academia until holding the position of assistant professor in forensic science. From 1999 to 2003, he led the Interpretation Research Group of the Forensic Science Service (UK), before taking a full professorship position at the School of Criminal Justice (ESC) of the University of Lausanne.

2020 Adelaide Medal

Dr John Buckleton (NZ)


Read Full Biography

John Buckleton is a forensic scientist who has worked extensively in the DNA field as a member of New Zealand’s Institute of Environmental Science and Research. He is one of the developers of STRmix, forensic software used to resolve mixed DNA profiles previously considered too complex to interpret.

Buckleton’s caseworking experience covers 33 years in the United States, Australia, the Netherlands, the United Kingdom and New Zealand. He has examined more than 2,000 cases and testified more than 200 times, and has co-authoried more than 180 publications in the forensic field.

2023 Adelaide Medal

Prof. James Robertson (AUS)

University of Canberra

Read Full Biography

James is the former head of the forensic group with the Australian Federal Police ( AFP) and Director of the National Centre for Forensic Studies ( NCFS ) at the University of Canberra ( UC ). With a career spanning five decades James has been an academic, practitioner and manager. His research interests are varied with a focus on trace evidence. He has been in numerous leadership roles and is the immediate past President of the Australian Academy of Forensic Sciences ( AAFS) and Emeritus Editor of the Australian Journal of Forensic Sciences ( AJFS).His contribution to forensic science , public service and academia has been recognised with an Honorary Doctor at UC, the Public Service medal ( PSM ) and a member of the Order of Australia ( AM). James is a Fellow of the New South Wales Academy of Sciences ( FRSN).

2020 IAFS Humanitarian Award

Victorian Institute of Forensic Medicine

represented by Prof. Stephen Cordner

Read Full Biography

Stephen Cordner graduated in Medicine from Melbourne University in 1977. After appointments in Forensic Medicine at Guy’s Hospital in London, working as a Home Office Pathologist. During this period he became a Fellow of the Royal College of Pathologists in both Australasia and Great Britain.
Stephen was appointed Foundation Professor of Forensic Medicine at Monash University and Foundation Director of the Victorian Institute of Forensic Medicine in 1987. He retired from that role in 2014 and since then has been teaching, training and writing in forensic pathology. In 2022, he retired completely and was appointed Emeritus Professor.
He has worked as a Consultant to the ICRC, WHO and UNODC involving missions to Iraq, the former Yugoslavia, Myanmar, The Philippines, Liberia, Nepal, Palestine and Afghanistan. In 2005, Professor Cordner became a Member of the Order of Australia for service to forensic medicine nationally and internationally.

2023 IAFS Humanitarian Award

Prof. Duarte Nuno Vieira (PT)

University of Coimbra

Read Full Biography

Full Professor and Past Dean of the Faculty of Medicine of the University of Coimbra and visiting professor in several other Portuguese, European, Asian and South American universities. Chairman of the Ibero-American Network of Forensic Sciences, of the Scientific Advisory Board of the Prosecutor of the International Criminal Court. Chairman, of the Thematic Federation on Legal and Forensic Medicine of the European Union of Medical Specialists, and Vice-President of the European Confederation of Experts on Evaluation and Repair of Bodily Injury.  Past President of the International Academy of Legal Medicine, International Association of Forensic Sciences, World Association of Police Medical Officers, European Council of Legal Medicine, Mediterranean Academy of Forensic Sciences, and of the Latin American Association of Medical Law, among others. Past President of the Portuguese National Institute of Legal Medicine and Forensic Sciences and of the Portuguese Medico-Legal Council. Works, on regular basis, as Temporary Forensic Consultant for the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights. Member of the Forensic Advisory Board of the International Committee of the Red Cross and of the Forensic Expert Group of the International Rehabilitation Council for Torture Victims.